Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alright, so this is the second time I have made this recipe, I got it from epicurious.com. Spoiler alert, this recipe ,for me anyways, is a fail. I just can’t seem to get it right. Out of all the patties I made, these two were the only ones that kind of came out right:

Image

yep, the rest of them came out looking more like this:

Image

Which is fine, just not very good for photos. Anyhoo, this is what I did: first I got 2 cups of quinoa, rinsed it , put it in a medium sauce pan with 3 cups of water and let that simmer for 25-30 mins. (That was from the actually recipe, I honestly have no idea how long I let it simmer, I just kept my eye on it until it was done,haha). While that was going, I roughly cut half a yellow onion and 2 1/2 carrots. Put those in my food processor along with some salad greens I had in the fridge:

Image

wow, I need to get a better camera, sorry for the picture quality, I was using my phone.

I then pulsed everything until it looked like this:

Image

poured that mixture into a large mixing bowl , added 3 tblsp garlic powder,1/3 cup smoked gouda cheese, 4 eggs, and about 2 cups of bread crumbs that I made in my food processor.

Image

the recipe only calls for 1 cup bread crumbs, but I found that I needed the extra cup to hold them together. once the quinoa was done and cooled I added all of it to the mixture in the bowl and combined it.

Image

then I shaped them into patties and put them onto a buttered hot griddle, on the flat side. like so:

Image

now the recipe says to cook them in a skillet and cover them. some how I missed that part. anyway, it also said to cook for 7-10 minute until the bottoms are deeply browned, then flip and cook for another 7 minutes. i’m pretty sure that’s exactly what I did…or maybe not. when I got finished cooking all the patties, I think I ended up with 10 or so patties. I just wish they would have stayed together, oh well, they still tasted delicious. The tomatoes I just cut in half and tossed with Tuscan style Italian dressing. pretty simple, pretty nomnomnoms.

Image

tonight i’m making chicken and rice, so I might not blog about it, unless anyone is interested anyway. but I figure everyone has done chicken and rice before, so yeah. thanks for reading!

